Nicole Lachance: Proud to be Living her Independent Dream

Hello Everyone, My name is Nicole Lachance. I am 24 years old & live in Barrie. On July 1st 2018, I reached 1 of the most important milestones in my life, getting my 1st apartment. Having your own place doesn’t just happen overnight, there are many skills you need to learn & be able to accomplish on your own, before getting your own place. Cooking, Cleaning, Finances just to name a few.


One skill that I am proud to accomplish on my own is cooking. I went from always having to rely on my mom to cook all my meals, to teaching myself how to cook meals with fresh ingredients & none that are frozen & out of a box. 1 meal that I make that has recently become 1 of my favourites is “Buffalo Chicken Pizza” The instructions for this recipe are quite simple: Assemble your pizza dough with Ranch Sauce as your pizza sauce, sprinkle on both Mozzarella & Feta Cheese, mix together cooked Chicken Strips, Buffalo Sauce & Butter in a separate small bowl & then top your pizza with the mixture. Set your oven for 350 degrees & cook for around 10 – 12 minutes, Afterwards (If you choose too), top with Green Onion. If I can follow a simple recipe like that, anybody can!

Aside from taking care of my apartment, I also try too stay active in my community. I work part-time at HomeSense in the Georgian Mall & really enjoy my job! I have worked at HomeSense for almost 4 years now. My job is not just a job, it’s a place were I can also go & have a few laughs with my co-workers as well while I’m working (And we all have plenty). My managers & fellow co-workers love having me as part of their team, & I’m very grateful to be apart of such a fantastic, caring company.

I have also found the time to take up a new activity for socializing & exercise: 10-Pin Bowling with Special Olympics Barrie. This past fall was the 1st time I ever decided to join something with Special Olympics Barrie, & I’m certainly glad I did. My bowling teammates & coaches are some of the nicest people I have ever met & as a result, I plan to continue with 10-Pin Bowling in the future as well as take up another sport with Special Olympics Barrie when that time comes: Track & Field.

On the subject of 10-Pin Bowling, there is 1 teammate in particular who I have a fantastic relationship with, her name is Annabelle.

Annabelle & I aren’t just bowling teammates were also co-workers. I first met Annabelle in October 2016, when I started my job at HomeSense on placement, & her & I always had a great relationship with each other right from the start, & ever since I joined 10-Pin Bowling with Special Olympics Barrie, her & I didn’t just become co-workers with each other anymore, we became best friends.

I am truly grateful for this relationship / friendship I have with Annabelle, & I hope that both of us are friends with each other for a very long time. Or we call each other “Partners in Crime”. 

Thanks to my family, Integrated Autism Consulting and others who have helped me on my road to independence!


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *